Skip to toolbar


NEW MEMBERS - REGISTER HERE


Membership is FREE!
It is best to log in before posting. Anonymous posting is disabled.

KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Phew, it's just not happening...I want to use the KN6000 to record drums in Sibelius. Sibelius recognises the Input Device, but does NOT play. My old Technics PIANO DOES play and I can record, but it's not happening with the KN6000. I am using MIDI IN/…

  • Home
  • »
  • Forum
  • »
  • KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop
Viewing 1 to 6 (6 Total)
KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

rosi

rosi
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 11, 2014

Phew, it's just not happening...I want to use the KN6000 to record drums in Sibelius. Sibelius recognises the Input Device, but does NOT play. My old Technics PIANO DOES play and I can record, but it's not happening with the KN6000. I am using MIDI IN/OUT going into the KN6000 and USB going into the laptop. My laptop runs Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit. What am I missing? Is it because I am a woman? Anyone with any suggestions? Thank you.

Posted on December 11, 2014 at 8:33 PM
Display Messages: Threaded     Flat
5 Replies

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1101
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Hi rosi, well I probably need to ask you a few questions to get this up and running but first off let's make some assumptions:

I'll assume that you're using a USB MIDI interface, so you have the USB plugged into the computer. The MIDI out of the KN6000 goes to the MIDI in of the computer. The MIDI in of the KN6000 connects to the MIDI out of the computer.

Now refer to page 173 of the KN6000 user manual in order to set up the KN6000 as the master, using the computer as the slave (external sequencer). The user manual can be downloaded in the members are if you don't have it.

At this point, playing the keyboard should send midi notes to the computer and Sibelius should recognise them.

Let me know how you get on with all of that. If you're still not having much luck we'll go back and do it all in smaller steps.

Once we have got that far we'll move on to making the correct drum sounds work and some other fine tuning smiling

Are you just trying to make notation? Or are you trying to record into Sibelius and also play back through the KN6000?

Best wishes,
Mike

Posted on December 12, 2014 at 10:33 PM

rosi

rosi
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 11, 2014

Re: KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Hey, thanks for stepping in here...It din’t work. Here is what I did (and remember, I am a woman that’s why my explanation may seem odd):
Using USB MIDI interface (one end USB, the other – IN and OUT), I plugged the IN lead into the Midi OUT of the Keyboard; OUT lead – into the IN of the keyboard. I plugged the other end, the USB into the laptop and only then started the Sibelius 7.

Before that, I made my Technics to be the Master.

Once Sibelius has started, I go to Preferences, Input Devices and I SEE what I need to see:
Device Name – USB cable
Type – Keyboard
Input Map – MIDI Keyboard

I chose/highlight the device and play some notes on the keyboard and I am supposed to see the Test indicator lighting up. Well, it does not. I tried different instruments – same. 

What’s next for me to try, Mike?

Posted on December 15, 2014 at 7:02 PM

rosi

rosi
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 11, 2014

Re: KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Mike, I'm signed in,....I don't know why my reply to you appeared as from someone anonymous. It's Rosi. Cheers

Posted on December 15, 2014 at 7:04 PM

admin

admin
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 1101
Joined: February 2, 2014

Re: KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Hi Rosi,

Ok lets try a few things:

On the back of your KN6000 there is a small switch, make sure it is set to MIDI and then try.

Swap the MIDI in and out, just in case, you won't damage anything.

If there is a small switch on your MIDI interface try throwing that.

If still not working, close Sibelius, double click a MIDI file and see if it plays on your keyboard, let's make sure we have some kind of connection even if it is outwards.

If it does not, install the Falcosoft Soundfont MIDI player, try the MIDI settings on that and try to play a MIDI file to your keyboard with it - FREE MIDI Player

If it still doesn't play to your KN6000, close the MIDI player and install the Vista MIDI Fix tool and then re-try with the Falcosoft MIDI player.

Let us know how you get on.
Mike

Posted on December 15, 2014 at 7:19 PM

rosi

rosi
United Kingdom

Total Posts: 26
Joined: December 11, 2014

Re: KN6000 MIDI connection to a laptop

Yep, it was the switch! Lol!

Posted on January 6, 2015 at 4:26 PM